Asparagus with Sauce Gribiche

Asparagus with Sauce GribicheI love spring & summer vegetables in the UK, asparagus is my second favourite (peas are obviously number 1). Most of the time I serve asparagus with tons of butter, a splash of lemon juice, salt & pepper. Job done – delicious! Only occasionally do I bother trying something different & I am often disappointed with the results but not this time.

I made this as a starter for a supperclub which celebrates seasonal food. We host this at my new place of work – Regather in Sheffield. It is a co-op which was set up to get local people working together. One of our projects is a veg box scheme. We work with local growers as often as possible & everything is organic. One of the perks of working here is getting my hands on these wonderful ingredients.

I have now done two Eating Seasonally menus & I have loved designing & cooking them. The idea is to showcase the wonderful produce so there is a delicate balance between simplicity & doing some cheffy stuff. People do not want to pay to eat things they could make at home in 3 minutes. I knew that for May asparagus was a must. We can get it all year in the Uk now but I only buy the English stuff. Sorry to my former home – Peru – but your asparagus has no flavour. In May I eat it pretty much every day.

I reckon the best things to serve with asparagus are eggs, lemon, butter or olive oil & miso. Too many ingredients mask the delicate flavour. Becky suggested this Nigel Slater recipe for my menu as it combines those ingredients to great effect & is delicious with the fresh asparagus. I have to say the diners loved it. Several of our guests had never eaten asparagus & it made me very happy to see them get such joy from trying it.

This sauce is a great thing to serve if you have lots of people to feed or are not comfortable with using uncooked eggs. You can pretty much use any leafy herbs. I used tarragon because I wanted to have an aniseed flavour in there. I think chervil is traditional. Asparagus with Sauce Gribiche

Asparagus with Sauce Gribiche

Ingredients: (Serves 6)

6 portions of asparagus (I used 4 per person as they were large)

4 eggs

2 tsp dijon mustard (or wholegrain)

2 tsp white wine vinegar

2 tsp lemon juice

125ml olive oil

2 tbsp capers

2 tbsp chopped gherkins

about 2 tbsp tarragon & parsley – finely chopped

salt & pepper

Preparation (about 20 minutes):

  1. Boil the eggs for about 8 minutes so that the yolks are firm but not overcooked. Cool
  2. Remove the yolks & mash them thoroughly. Put them into a mixing bowl with the dijon
  3. Chop the egg whites & set aside
  4. Meanwhile put some salty water on to boil for the asparagus. Cook it for a few minutes until tender but still al dente
  5. Whisk the olive oil into the yolks & dijon to create a thick sauceAsparagus with Sauce GribicheAsparagus with Sauce Gribiche
  6. Add the rest of the ingredients & mix thoroughly. Taste for seasoning
  7. Serve with the blanched asparagus.

NB – You can prepare the asparagus ahead of time & plunge it into icy water to stop it cooking. Then just reheat & serve when you need it.

Here’s a few pics from the supperclub. Thanks to Zuzanna Jankowska for taking them & all our other volunteers for their brilliant support.

If you live in the area & wish to join us for Eating Seasonally further details & tickets can be found on our wesbite & FB page Next one will be on 15th June

Eating Seasonally

Happy guests

Eating Seasonally

Vegetable Nage

Eating Seasonally

Brand new local cheese made just down the road

Eating Seasonally

Jersey Royal Salad with local cheese, candied walnuts, watercress & spring onion

Eating Seasonally

Yorkshire Rhubarb Posset

 

One response to “Asparagus with Sauce Gribiche

  1. This sounds fabulous! I’m just usually happy with asparagus steamed, a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of good salt. This is like a meal! Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

