Churros

Churros
Churros are a wonderful treat on a chilly day. I first tried them years ago when visiting Barcelona. Now that I live here I’ve added them to my regular diet. Although not too regularly… I’m not sure my arteries could take it!

For anyone who hasn’t experienced the delight of this little sweet treat, it is similar to a thin crispy fried donut, often made with a choux type of pastry. They come deep fried, sprinkled with sugar and accompanied by an incredibly thick cup of chocolate for dipping. The best ones are warm, crunchy and crispy with a fluffy middle, leaving just a slight sheen of grease on your fingers.

Churros dipped in chocolate
I’m told that the churros in the south of Spain are much better than here in Barcelona. I think it’s probably a good job I don’t live in the south in that case.

Anyway, I’m on the hunt for the best churros in Barcelona, so if you have any tips please do share them in the comments section. I’ve tried a few so far and am hoping to find the best ones to share with you all here on the blog.

The ones in these pictures were taken at Granja Viader – a sort of old-fashioned coffee shop, or ‘milk bar’ to be accurate – in Raval near the Boqueria market. They weren’t the lightest or fluffiest of churros, but the thick dark chocolate was delicious. The room feels like you’ve stepped back in time with art nouveau decor and flooring. Worth a visit for that alone!
Granja M Viader
azulejos

I’ve been tipped off about a place on Carrer Petritxol in Barri Gotic, so that’s where I’ll be heading next. All other suggestions gratefully received!

Becky
Chocolate con churros

2 responses to “Churros

Leave a Reply

