Papabubble Interview

After writing about the very fabulous Papabubble sweetshop in Barcelona I thought I would email them to see whether they would answer a few questions for our little blog. I sent off the email, thinking they may be a bit too busy, but hoping I’d hear back from them. In a few days I had a lovely message back from Alejandro who answered my questions while in Shanghai, spreading the word about his delicious business.

Sweetshop barcelona

So, here is some inside info on the ideas, inspirations and tastes behind gourmet sweet makers Papabubble:

1 – Who started Papabubble and what sparked the idea?

TWO AUSTRALIANS STARTED THE IDEA, BUT I AM THE ONE WHO SPARKED IT ALL AROUND THE WORLD BECAUSE I AM COMING FROM THE CANDY INDUSTRY (CADBURY, CHUPA CHUPS, HARIBO, PVM) ALWAYS MANAGING INTERNATIONAL POSITIONS

2 – Where did the name come from?

NO STRANGE STORY BEHIND, SORRY, IT WAS JUST TOMMY’S IMAGINATION, AND I KEPT IT AS I LOVE IT!

3 – Can you tell us about a magical moment for Papabubble?

EVERYTIME PEOPLE LIKE YOU, LIKE ALL THE BLOGGERS, MAGAZINES, NEWSPAPERS AND TV STATIONS FROM ALL AROUND THE PLANET CALL ME I HAVE TO PINCH MY FACE TO REALIZE I AM NOT DREAMING!! SOME OF THOSE MEDIA WERE REAL MONSTERS WHEN I WORKED IN COMMUNICATIONS!

4 – Are there any flavours which haven’t worked?

VEGETABLE MIX! DIDN’T WORK WELL, HOWEVER SWEET TOMATO WAS A LOVELY FLAVOR

5 – What is your favourite flavour?

PASSION FRUIT

Thank you to Alejandro for taking time out from his busy schedule to share a few Papabubble thoughts with us here on the Recipe for Gluttony blog!

Becky

Here are a few new pics from a recent trip to the shop where I saw them putting the little letters into rock!

Sweetshop window display - Papabubble

Great window display – the giant icecream cone had a little toy icecream van on the other end!

And here’s how the little letters get int the sweets…

Tiny letters in a stick of rock!

Here's how they put the words into sticks of rock

The starting point of putting words into rock

6 responses to “Papabubble Interview

Leave a Reply

